Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Hey guys. Just need to vent my thoughts and hopefully gain some TSR wisdom.

My situation in short:

Just had Autumn exam results back. Got 73% average.

This means I need 72% average in summer exams and dissertation.

Everyone I speak to says "go for it!". I'm an average student that worked really hard last term to get where I am. I tried hard in my first year and got a 60% average (hence the 73% not 70% average needed).

I can't help thinking how I will feel if i just miss out on getting a first.

I reckon the difference in workload between sitting back and letting my 2:1 roll in (50% needed) and getting that 72% is probably about 30hrs/week.

The thing is I wouldn't waste my spare time either, I've got some little qualifications that I want to do and job applications take 5-10 hours a week.

I'm hoping someone is at least in a similar situation. If not I may post this on the postgraduate forum.

Thanks for any advice

ReputationRep:
    I know this only too well. I'm in my final year, and my first was not far and above 70% last year. Therefore this year I need to retain that average.
    An early c/w grade didn't help but it all comes down to the exam results I will get back in a few weeks. You're not the only one! I would be very disappointed if I do not attain a first. You've just got to keep working, and hopefully we both won't miss it!

ReputationRep:
    I am quite anxious about how well I'll do this year. Unlike you, my first year doesn't count and I averaged 64% last year. I really want a first though!! I need to geta first in 3 out of my 4 modules this year. I'm getting some mid term papers back in a couple of weeks - I'll see then whether a first is actually attainable. xx

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by blinkbelle)