Turn on thread page Beta

Going abroad for the first time watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    I'm thinking of going abroad for a holiday between the third and fourth years of my course. I'll be the first person in my family to go abroad, so i'm not sure what's involved. Not sure where I want to go yet either. Since it's my first time abroad i'd like to go somewhere English speaking. I'm quite interested in visiting one of the larger American cities.

Any tips on the best way to arrange this (e.g. travel, accommodation)? What else needs to be done (e.g. getting a passport, money)?

Thanks

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by cgh123)
    I'm thinking of going abroad for a holiday between the third and fourth years of my course. I'll be the first person in my family to go abroad, so i'm not sure what's involved. Not sure where I want to go yet either. Since it's my first time abroad i'd like to go somewhere English speaking. I'm quite interested in visiting one of the larger American cities.

Any tips on the best way to arrange this (e.g. travel, accommodation)? What else needs to be done (e.g. getting a passport, money)?

Thanks
    To Do List: (Alicia's Recommendation)

Passport * have a passport travel kit and look up UK consulates in the US
    Make 3 copies of passport, bank cards, IDs (1 for you, (1) parent/guardian, and (1) trusted friend) in the event that your passport is lost or stolen
    Understand dialing options/whether your cell phone will work in the US/pre-paid phones in the US/international calling cards
    Emergency numbers to call in the US (i.e. dial 911 for emergency)
    Buy US travel guides/maps in the UK before arrival (major recommendation)
    Research travel deals on visiting multiple US cities * If you have an itinerary of expected cities/activites, leave a copy with parent/guardian/trusted friend in case of serious emergency
    Check out this link: http://www.travelzoo.com/