Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    I applied to read philosophy & theology but have been made an unconditional offer for theology.

I feel gutted and quite disappointed! I had been looking forward to studying philosophy at university and did well in my A levels. I really enjoy thinking and reading about philosophical topics. I am a mature student (26 years old).

I plan on studying the introduction to philosophy option as part of my single option theology, which i can do in my prelims.

How easy is it to change after prelims? Who do i contact? What obstacles will i face? Should i try and do really well in my prelims?

James

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Socratessmells)
    I applied to read philosophy & theology but have been made an unconditional offer for theology.

I feel gutted and quite disappointed! I had been looking forward to studying philosophy at university and did well in my A levels. I really enjoy thinking and reading about philosophical topics. I am a mature student (26 years old).

I plan on studying the introduction to philosophy option as part of my single option theology, which i can do in my prelims.

How easy is it to change after prelims? Who do i contact? What obstacles will i face? Should i try and do really well in my prelims?

James
    I don't know about your particular situation but a guy in my college wants to swap from English to English & History. He's been told that if he gets 65% in his prelims (solid 2:1) he'll be allowed to swap. I expect it varies from college to college and department to department though.

ReputationRep:
    I think your particular university would be the best to contact, they'll know better than anyone on here.

ReputationRep:
    The best person to speak to would be your equivalent of 'senior tutor'. Its their job to sort out these sorts of academic issues. Have you spoken to your subject tutor yet?

ReputationRep: