Turn on thread page Beta

how to write a cheque watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    hey,

just a really quick question for a quick answer: how do you write a cheque? this is my first time. This is what I wrote:

NAME (of person)
    =XXX POUNDS=
    =ONLY=

what i am confused about is the "=" bit. I placed it in four places as shown. is that ok?

thx

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by magicgate)
    what i am confused about is the "=" bit. I placed it in four places as shown. is that ok?
    I think ur only supposed to put those bits after u hav written however much the cheque is for

ReputationRep:
    Just incase...your also meant to write it as:
    eighty nine pounds 67 pence only ===
    just to improve the clarity.etc.
    if you really want to see how one is written send me a blank cheque, i'll cash it and you can request it be returned with your statement

ReputationRep:
    urg. but how about when you go to the line, i mean som1 could add something? but yeah i guess ur right

ReputationRep:
    It would be quite difficult, because on the line on the left hand side, you write the ammount in words, eg. SIXTY FIVE POUNDS AND THIRTY PENCE ONLY ==.

And then in the box on the bottom right hand side, you write it in numbers, eg. 65.30 =.

I usually cross sevens and zeros to avoid confuusion...

ReputationRep:
    http://www.moneymatterstome.co.uk/In...tingCheque.htm

look at this. You have to click on the boxes at the bottom, and a pen will write it in the cheque

ReputationRep:
    Don't forget to verify that your chequebook is crossed.

ReputationRep:
    what does that mean

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by magicgate)
    what does that mean
    It means cheques you write can only be paid into the account of the person named on them, signified by a couple of vertical lines and/or something to the effect of "a/c payee only". I've never seen a cheque that wasn't like that though.

ReputationRep: