The Student Room Group

help with complaining about universities?!

hey all im in my second year of uni (finishing in may) and whilst i have been on the course i have been sexually discriminated against, bullied by a teacher (along with another student) :mad: plus our uni is really unorganised and doesnt have equipment or enough staff....
god i sound so moany! but i'm in £8000+ debt and i just want my complaint to be handled properly.

I havent complained to my uni as im worried i might suffer from some repercussions.

does anyone know where i can complain to (other than to my uni) please? :confused:

I've written to the "Office of the Independent Adjudicator for Higher Education" but dont know if that is the right place to complain to!!

any info, help and tips for complaining would be great!!

thanks a lot!!! :biggrin:

Scroll to see replies

Reply 1
Which uni is this?
I don't think you'll get anywhere with complaining about how the university is ill-equipped or disorganised - some are, that's how it is. The bullying is another matter though, you could probably do something about that, but surely if it's just one teacher then going to the "head" (or someone high up) of your university would be worth it as a first step? I don't think they'd hold it against you in any way. Other than that I don't know where you could go I'm afraid.
cassie234

I've written to the "Office of the Independent Adjudicator for Higher Education" but dont know if that is the right place to complain to!!

It is, but they can't consider complaints until you've given the university the opportunity to respond. Your uni should have a published complaints procedure - may even be buried on its website - get hold of it and follow the steps outlined.
Ombudsman could probably help, but you have to write to an MP so they send it on to them.
Installation
Ombudsman could probably help, but you have to write to an MP so they send it on to them.