The Student Room Group

How many distinction and merit grades do I need to achieve an overall DMM or DDM?

I am studying a 2 year BTEC National Diploma course in Travel and Tourism at Level 3 and want to go to university after. I am aiming to get an overall either DMM or DDM, because no way am I going to achieve an overall DDD. :unsure:

Currently I've done 8 units this year (yes this is my first year) and so far I have achieved 1 pass on 1 unit and mostly got 3 merits for 3 units and achieved 3 distinctions for 3 units. :rolleyes:

So what do you think? Which grade should I aim for overall? :confused:

Scroll to see replies

Reply 1
What number of Guided Learning Hour did each unit consist of?
usa1981
What number of Guided Learning Hour did each unit consist of?

360 I think somewhere around there. Why? :confused:
Reply 3
How points do you have in the units you have? 360 is the UCAS points for three A-levels. Which units have you taken? The number of GLH is how you figure out how many points you can receive in each unit. Since you know your scores in 7 of 8 that you have taken so far the number points you have 6+(3*12)+(3*18)= 96 of a possible 126 points. I think you haven't 12 of the units yet the points you have would be one D, although, you might have a MP at certificate.
Why are you so sure aren't to get a DDD?
usa1981
How points do you have in the units you have? 360 is the UCAS points for three A-levels. Which units have you taken? The number of GLH is how you figure out how many points you can receive in each unit. Since you know your scores in 7 of 8 that you have taken so far the number points you have 6+(3*12)+(3*18)= 96 of a possible 126 points. I think you haven't 12 of the units yet the points you have would be one D, although, you might have a MP at certificate.
Why are you so sure aren't to get a DDD?