Turn on thread page Beta

First of all, I apologise if this is in the wrong forum. Hopefully a mod will move it if this is the case.

I am currently studying for my GCSEs which I will take later this year and am having trouble choosing my as-levels for next year. I've been asked to pick four subjects, one of which most people drop for a2.

I really don't know what I want to do after university. I particularly enjoy maths and am pretty good at it. I also like all the sciences but I don't really know what they'll be like at a-level. I have a feeling that I'll like physics the best and I love reading non-technical books on high-level physics by people like Richard Feynman and John Gribbin. Therefore, I want to keep the option open to read physics at university and this means that I'll have to do maths, further maths and physics. I am pretty confident that I'll be able to get an 'a' grade in these subjects.

However, I am not really sure I want a job in research or in finance or accounting that a degree in physics would lead to. My main concerns are:
    - lack of job security
    - not guaranteed decent pay
    - boring/unsatisfying (not making a difference)

I have ruled out engineering for similar reasons.

Basically, I was wondering if it would be worth studying subjects that would allow me to read medicine if I decide that it is the right career for me in a year or so's time. It seems like a very good occupation: it's respected, very well-paid, interesting and you are helping people but I am not yet sure if it is right for me. I suppose my main concerns are poor oral communication skills and unspectacular essay writing skills.

So basically I have three options:
    - I could take chemistry as my forth a-level (so I'd have two sciences: chemistry and physics). Some medical schools don't seem to require biology but I guess this would put me at a big disadvantage?