FenderCal90
Badges: 2
Report Thread starter 10 years ago
Hello, I'm currently in my first year at Sheffield Hallam University on their English course. I've been thinking about trying to do an MA at a Russell Group university but would they actually take someone on from an old poly? The entry requirements I've seen just say 'upper second humanities degree' but I'm sure they're competitive. I think I could've got into a better Uni if I'd worked harder/not had glandular fever in the run upto and including the A Level period and I want to prove to myself that I can get into an institution like that.

Sorry this is all a bit impetuous and rambling, cheers for reading, I know I've got plenty of time to think about what I do, just thought I'd float the idea now.
infernalcradle
Badges: 15
Rep:
?
Report 10 years ago
if you get a 1st and a good reference, there is absolutly no reason you would be able to apply to oxbridge for a masters...let alone russell group...get a 2:1....and its suddenly a hell of a lot harder
FenderCal90
Ah OK thank you for the prompt response. Head down then
tigermoth99
Badges: 13
Rep:
?
Report 10 years ago
If you have the cash, graduate with a good degree and have decent references/personal statement, anything is possible.
the_alba
Badges: 12
Rep:
?
Report 10 years ago
(Original post by tigermoth99)
If you have the cash, graduate with a good degree and have decent references/personal statement, anything is possible.
What's wrong with the AHRC?!
FenderCal90
(Original post by the_alba)
I think he was implying I ought to buy my way in :p:
the_alba
Rep:
?
Report 10 years ago
(Original post by FenderCal90)
I think he was implying I ought to buy my way in :p: