The Student Room Group

D in GCSE Maths

Hi there,
I'm new to TSR. I receieved my GCSE results yesterday and I am disappointed with my marks result. I have looked at the breakdown of the marks and my coursework was of a good standard as expected, so it must have been the two written examination papers which let me down badly. I sat the Intermediate (B-E) paper and only got a D despite expecting a B or a C. I felt the exam went well. Would you recommend I resit this? If so, should I teach myself and enter for it at a different school, do distance learning or enrole on an evening class or do it through my school. I am concerned it will affect my chances of going to a good university in the future - do you think this will be the case. I also receieved D's in English ( with a C in Literature and Double Award Science) all with AQA examw.

Many thanks for any advice. I'm really worried.
Reply 1
In reality GCSEs mean very little when applying to university. Retake it though, as most people will expect a minimum of a C.
Reply 2
Maths-wise I'd say so it through your school. With GCSE maths I believe there is a retake in November still (anyone confirm this?) which would be ideal for you to do.
Reply 3
samd
Maths-wise I'd say so it through your school. With GCSE maths I believe there is a retake in November still (anyone confirm this?) which would be ideal for you to do.

yes that is right - november
Does that involve doing all the coursework again?
Reply 5
kacas
Does that involve doing all the coursework again?

There used to be a restriction that coursework marks could be re-used only once, and within twelve months of the original award, this restriction was removed in the 2004/5 edition of the Code of Practice.

There is no longer any restriction on the number of occasions or on the time period (provided that it is within the lifetime of the specification).

Mathematics coursework can also be transferred between different boards.
oh good!