The Student Room Group

How important is the Fresher's week?

Hi there,

I'm an international student and a bit worried about missing the fresher's week in University of Plymouth. It'll start on 19th September' 05 and my term will commence on 26th of the same month. I'll hopefully apply for my visa on 1st September' 05 (i know i'm too late to apply, but still have some chances), and it'll take around 3 weeks to get the visa (as suggested by the British High Commissions in Bangladesh). So, if it takes completely 3 weeks to get the visa I'll most probably miss the fresher's week and will be starting my class right after I arrive UK.

Being an overseas student, I don't have much idea about the fresher's week. So, could anyone please suggest me how important is that week for the freshers?

Am I going to be in great disadvantage if I miss it?

Thanks,
Ashique
<A-S-H-I-Q-U-E>
Hi there,

I'm an international student and a bit worried about missing the fresher's week in University of Plymouth. It'll start on 19th September' 05 and my term will commence on 26th of the same month. I'll hopefully apply for my visa on 1st September' 05 (i know i'm too late to apply, but still have some chances), and it'll take around 3 weeks to get the visa (as suggested by the British High Commissions in Bangladesh). So, if it takes completely 3 weeks to get the visa I'll most probably miss the fresher's week and will be starting my class right after I arrive UK.

Being an overseas student, I don't have much idea about the fresher's week. So, could anyone please suggest me how important is that week for the freshers?

Am I going to be in great disadvantage if I miss it?

Thanks,
Ashique

I don't know much about how's the fresher week in University of Plymouth like. To certain extent, you will be disadvantaged if you miss it in terms of getting around with your classmates and your campus.