Any experience with MSc IPE? Watch

Zombile
Badges: 0
Report Thread starter 8 years ago
Hi there,

I have an offer the MSc in International Political Economy at LSE. I would like to ask any current students if you coul share some of your experiences with me.

How is the workload for the programme? How well is academic staff supporting you?
How strong is the quantitative approach?
Why are there only like 6 courses to choose from, and is it easy to visit IR courses?
What career are you aspiring for with this degree? How do your think your chances are in business?

Thank you in advance for any comments.

Zombile
unknown demon
Badges: 14
Rep:
?
Report 8 years ago
(Original post by Zombile)
Hi there,

I have an offer the MSc in International Political Economy at LSE. I would like to ask any current students if you coul share some of your experiences with me.

How is the workload for the programme? How well is academic staff supporting you?
Why are there only like 6 courses to choose from, and is it easy to visit IR courses?
What career are you aspiring for with this degree? How do your think your chances are in business?

Thank you in advance for any comments.

Zombile
I don't do this course but the friends I have on it do not have disimilar experience to myself.

- Lots of reading as in 3-10 readings per module per week (obviously you do not need to do all of them but it will help if you do a reasonable amount through the year)
- Staff approachable
- Teaching not so good (except Robert Wade does teach some courses and he's quite good)

- Unsure of this but most people are able to handle this particularly well
- Email admissions about this or a lecturer who teaches it, look on the lse website, academics publish their email addresses

- You can do any course you like as long as the convenor deems you appropriate and good enough to do it