Turn on thread page Beta

Actuary Question.. watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    So I am a student just finished my first year in Mathematics at University and I was looking at becoming a student member of the Faculty of Actuaries and possibly sit one of the exams before I graduate to give me a better chance of getting a graduate position.

However, the entry requirements state that you need to have A-Level (or equivalent) Maths at A to become a student member and I only achieved a B.

Even though I have completed much more complex Maths at university it is quite frustrating that I cannot become a member. Does anyone think it would be beneficial to take Maths again as an open learning course at college so I can get an A?

I have also noticed that a lot of employers ask for an A in school level Maths so that may be another reason to do it.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated as I could achieve the A easily I just didnt take my school exams to seriously when perhaps I should have!

Thanks

ReputationRep:
    United Kingdom and Republic of Ireland:
    5.1 Holds a degree awarded by a University in the United Kingdom or the Republic of Ireland or by the former Council for National Academic Awards and has either:
    studied mathematical sciences as a major subject, as part of an honours degree course and gained at least third class honours in that degree; or
    obtained a first or second class honours degree in any subject, together with at least a Grade C at Advanced Level in any mathematical subject or such other standard in mathematics as the Councils consider to be equivalent.
    5.2 Those who hold:
    two passes at Advanced Level. One of the Advanced Level passes must be in a mathematical subject with at least Grade B (or Grade C in the case of Further Mathematics or Higher Mathematics) and the other pass must be with at least Grade C;
    (Note: Performance in "S" level papers and AS level passes may be taken into account.)