Taking occupational therapy as second degree...finance? Watch

fearny1989
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 8 years ago
Hia everyone, hoping someone can help me out!

I'm currently in my second year doing Joint Honours Philosophy and theology at Leeds. I really want to do a post grad course in Occupational therapy when I graduate...however I really can't afford to - I simply wouldn't have enough to live on under 6 grand because I live completely independent from my parents with my boyfriend. I know I could get a job but I worry how placements would affect this etc.

So, I was wondering if I'm able to apply for an undergraduate course in Occupational therapy instead and get the 6000 bursary per year plus fees paid by the NHS. Would the NHS do this for someone who already holds a degree? Or is it like the SLC who don't fund someone taking a second undergraduate degree?

I really don't know what to do...it seems I can't afford to do any post graduate study which is so annoying!

Any help much appreciated

EDIT - I'm not sure where I got the £6000 from...seems thats only for nursing. So it seems I can't do it because I can't afford it ...god thats so horrible...
djk_99
Badges: 13
Rep:
?
Report 8 years ago
Not sure if there are 2 year MSc pre-reg dregrees for OT, but I'm on one for physio. NHS pays fees and gives me a bursary of about £4000 a year.
I also looked at doing a second BSc after my first degree- the SLC will give you a second loan of half the value if your degree leads to a professional qualification, but I believe you get a reduced NHS bursary then. The NHS will still pay your fees though.
You can also get a special bank loan called a professional development loan, on which the government pay your interest until one month after you graduate. You can get up to £10,000 through that.
Do some research online, all the information is easily accessible.
Eisenhorn's Ferret
Report 8 years ago