Turn on thread page Beta

Self teaching core 4 watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    wanted to teach myself core 4 for January, just want to know what everyone thinks of the module and if you need any core 3 knowledge for it, and its relative difficulty compared to the other modules.
    ty in advance
    • PS Helper

PS Helper
    I self-taught both C3 and C4; C4 definitely requires C3 knowledge. It's more difficult than the other modules, but it's supposed to be the "synoptic" module (i.e. it uses content from all of C1-3 as well as new content). If you're going to self-teach C4, it's definitely worth self-teaching C3 first. If you've got all of the summer to do this, it's definitely not too hard a goal.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by nuodai)
    I self-taught both C3 and C4; C4 definitely requires C3 knowledge. It's more difficult than the other modules, but it's supposed to be the "synoptic" module (i.e. it uses content from all of C1-3 as well as new content). If you're going to self-teach C4, it's definitely worth self-teaching C3 first. If you've got all of the summer to do this, it's definitely not too hard a goal.
    how large of a module is c3? and did you find it easy to learn by yourself?
    • PS Helper

PS Helper
    (Original post by hey_its_nay)
    how large of a module is c3? and did you find it easy to learn by yourself?
    I'm a pretty poor judge of how big modules are. Maths modules in general are a lot smaller in terms of stuff that you need to know than in any other subject; but in terms of things you need to know how to do they can be a bit heavy. At first I found self-teaching C3 pretty tough, but after keeping at it for a while it became a lot easier. Self-teaching C3 definitely made self-teaching C4 (and FP3) a lot easier too.

ReputationRep: