i'm a terrible driver. :( Watch

Elynnor1811
Badges: 16
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 9 years ago
i passed not that long ago but i'm such a bad driver, especially when it comes to reversing. i've hit about 3 bollards/walls in the last week and i've lost all my confidence. i also can't park very well. it's ok normally because i can use a blue badge and park in the big disabled spaces but when i have to parallel park i can't do it. all my friends take the piss about what a **** driver i am as well. urgh.

i was ok after i passed but i lost all confidence when i had a VERY near miss when a child ran into the road and i had to emergency stop/swerve into the other lane. i'm so hesitant to do anything now and end up driving really slowly (which i know is dangerous).

should i go back to my old instructor and have more lessons?.. or do all new drivers make mistakes? anyone in a similar situation? i don't feel confident to be on the roads but i have to drive so it's horrible. i'm starting to hate driving.
Mad Vlad
Badges: 19
Rep:
?
Report 9 years ago
All drivers, new and old make mistakes. It sounds like you just need someone to help you regain your confidence with driving. Might be worth going back to your old instructor, if nothing else to refresh your skills with manoeuvres because you shouldn't be hitting stationary objects. :erm:
LouboutinLove
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report 9 years ago
I think if you're as worried as you sound a few more lessons would do you some real good, even if it's just to have a reassuring presence who you know isn't going to make fun of you or panic if you do something wrong and it'd probably boost your confidence by miles. I passed just over a year ago now and I felt the same as you, and although I've never actually hit anything I can sympathise! It does get easier, I promise!
RollerBall
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 9 years ago
It's the peddle on the right, ******* press it.
divine_alive
Rep:
?
Report 9 years ago