This discussion is closed.
msnmsger
Badges: 0
Report Thread starter 16 years ago
I am an international student and don't know too much about UK Unis. By chance I sent CVs to physics in Warwick and the staff replied me one hour later. She asked me to go for an interview and urged me to submit ORS(overseas research studentship). It seems to be quite positive (as I got a little bit confident in my records)--while I am waiting for replies from Cambridge and ORS cannot be applied in more than one institutions.

I'd like ask how good is Warwick? They got good reputation in UK but not worldwide as it is very young (unlike Cam Ox IC LSE & UCL). Even not as good as Shef, Nottingham and Birmingham in terms of research income.But nevertheless their physics got 5 in RAE. So I am hesitating what to do next,to find another in the premier league (internationally well known) or stick to Warwick as Cambridge alternative?
msnmsger
No one reply....
I know lots of UGs here....

(Original post by msnmsger)
I am an international student and don't know too much about UK Unis. By chance I sent CVs to physics in Warwick and the staff replied me one hour later. She asked me to go for an interview and urged me to submit ORS(overseas research studentship). It seems to be quite positive (as I got a little bit confident in my records)--while I am waiting for replies from Cambridge and ORS cannot be applied in more than one institutions.

I'd like ask how good is Warwick? They got good reputation in UK but not worldwide as it is very young (unlike Cam Ox IC LSE & UCL). Even not as good as Shef, Nottingham and Birmingham in terms of research income.But nevertheless their physics got 5 in RAE. So I am hesitating what to do next,to find another in the premier league (internationally well known) or stick to Warwick as Cambridge alternative?
GH
Badges: 13
Rep:
?
Report 16 years ago
They want foreign students to come over as they are worth 3 times as much than local ones, for funding.
msnmsger