Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Okay so my question is kind of related to a concern I picked up from some post I read somewhere. I was really interested in doing a language floater next year (first year) but someone said that its heavily discouraged to do something you have no background in. That doesnt help seeing as I specifically wanted to study a foreign language I have no background in.

Does anyone with experience of a language floater have anything to say about how difficult it was with the workload? Apparently its supposed to be hard because you dont have as much time as people doing them as a degree to pick up skills. I would be gutted if I couldnt do one.

ReputationRep:
    No, you should do a language floater in your first year. The reason is that language units have more class contact time than your other subjects, so it's better to take them in your first or second years than third. You shouldn't listen to that person who said it's 'heavily discouraged'. The complete opposite is true in my experience.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Acolyte)
    No, you should do a language floater in your first year. The reason is that language units have more class contact time than your other subjects, so it's better to take them in your first or second years than third. You shouldn't listen to that person who said it's 'heavily discouraged'. The complete opposite is true in my experience.
    What language did you do and how hard did you find it to pick up?

Also, I am assuming that first year doesnt count so all you would need to do is pass the unit right?

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by iberz)
    What language did you do and how hard did you find it to pick up?