The Student Room Group

Applying for Politics, PolPhil, PPE, ESPS and War Studies

Hey guys,
At the moment, I'm planning on applying for the following courses for entry in 2011.

1) UCL - European Social & Political Sciences (Italian ab initio)
2) Oxford - PPE
3) York - Politics & Philosophy
4) SOAS (perhaps) - Politics
5) KCL - War Studies

Is this even viable?

I'm not applying for PPE across the board because I'm dropping Maths at A2, but my school has managed to get students like me into Oxford in the past.

For ESPS, I spoke to the admissions tutor at the open day, and he said that a PPE personal statement was perfectly acceptable.

My question really lies with War Studies. Is a PPE statement acceptable or advisable for this course? Or would they be expecting a Hist+Pol PS.

If I applied to the above, my personal statement would have to include War and some Italian history, I assume. I studied the Italian revolutions at AS, which could help.

The subjects I took were English, History, Economics & Maths. I'm dropping Maths next year.

My first choice really is ESPS (learning Italian from scratch). Could any UCL students (or any other students) give any advice towards applying for this course? It's the one I really, really want to get accepted into.

I would also appreciate any advice that you could offer.
dorian gray