This discussion is closed.
toxi
Badges: 0
Report Thread starter 16 years ago
Ok...I'm in the process of choosing 2 more A-Levels for my compsci course. (things are different here, we don't do them in the last 2 years, anw).
I'm doing maths & computing so far, but I thought of taking english literature. Will the uni's like it or not, as it is not a science-oriented subject?? I also thought of doing statistics or bio. I'm not taking physics as I hate them and im not good at it..
So my selections are somewhat limited...
llama boy
Rep:
?
Report 16 years ago
TBH, most compsci departments aren't too fond of Computing A Level either.
Leekey
Badges: 9
Report 16 years ago
(Original post by toxi)
Ok...I'm in the process of choosing 2 more A-Levels for my compsci course. (things are different here, we don't do them in the last 2 years, anw).
I'm doing maths & computing so far, but I thought of taking english literature. Will the uni's like it or not, as it is not a science-oriented subject?? I also thought of doing statistics or bio. I'm not taking physics as I hate them and im not good at it..
So my selections are somewhat limited...
Most good Uni's say that Maths in a requirement and that a "physical science" or "laboratory based subject" is preferable so my initial reaction would be to say that physics is you best option. Due to the fact that you don't want to do that I would then say that you should consider taking a another science subject, I do electronics and can highly reccomend that but if your school / college don't offer that (many don't) then you could consider biology or chemistry. If you don't fancy either of those (or want to apply to Oxbridge) then further maths may be the way to go. Although this leaves you without a science subject!!!
Leekey
Report 16 years ago
(Original post by llama boy)
TBH, most compsci departments aren't too fond of Computing A Level either.