any think there should be new laws or laws taken off
Howard
Badges: 3
Rep:
?
Report 16 years ago
(Original post by daz4000)
any think there should be new laws or laws taken off
How much law we should or shouldn't have really depends on your political standing and what you personally believe the role of the state should properly be.

As a libertarian my view is that the tentacles of the state already extend far beyond what I am comfortable with, and go too far in encroaching on personal liberty and individual choice.

I think we are overly legislated and at risk of becoming heavily over lawyered. For me, the less government does the better and that means less, not more, law.
George-W-Duck
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report 16 years ago
Can i point your attention towards a certain law that seems utterly pointless.

I am a future university student as from next year and it seems strange that the government can be so contradictory in terms of skills. They stated in 2002 that they are trying to increase the number of modern apprenticeships. However, the loony left then introduced a number of sections into the new laws to give these modern apprenticeships extra rights. These include such things as having to have a permanent working toilet on the site you are working on, they must be a certain distance from the nearest hospital, cannot be left on their own, and also an insane amount of bureaucracy meaning people employing modern apprentices have to fill in progress checks and things ona regular basis. I have a carpenter and a plumber in the family and both have told me that the laws mean they havent the time to fill in the forms, and what use is it to them employing youngsters if they need to fix a toilet (so cant go because the toilet isnt working) or go to a building site that is in the prepartory stages.

It seems silly that to help cut the skills gap they are making and adding laws and regulations to hinder this.