UK bank account for European student? Watch

frola
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 9 years ago
I am a Swedish student taking up studies in the UK this autumn, and I wonder how opening bank account works? I found a good bank account guide here at thestudentroom, but it's only for permanent UK residents, which rules me out. Does anyone have suggestions about how to do, where to look? And which bank to choose? Thank you, Frola
Kr1tya3
Rep:
?
Report 9 years ago
Hey,

I'm going to get a basic account at NatWest.
SebastianD
Report 9 years ago
I have the same problem. From my research I found that Lloyds and Barkleys have free accounts for international students. (for the Barkleys one you have apply before you arrive)
hypocriticaljap
Rep:
?
Report 9 years ago
(Original post by SebastianD)
I have the same problem. From my research I found that Lloyds and Barkleys have free accounts for international students. (for the Barkleys one you have apply before you arrive)
Are you sure about that? As far as I am aware there are 2 Barclays accounts available to you but they require £1000 and £5000 deposited. The £1000 doesn't give you a credit card or an overdraft.
meisje
Badges: 5
Rep:
?
Report 9 years ago
*subscribes*
SebastianD
Report 9 years ago
(Original post by hypocriticaljap)
Are you sure about that? As far as I am aware there are 2 Barclays accounts available to you but they require £1000 and £5000 deposited. The £1000 doesn't give you a credit card or an overdraft.
I don't see the problem in depositing 1000pounds. Someone who is coming to the UK to study is sure to have more than that available.
You normally don't get a credit card with any account when you are an international student, but you do get a debit card which is more than you need for making payments. I doubt that the other accounts, for which you pay about 5-8 pounds per month give you a credit card.
hypocriticaljap
Rep:
?
Report 9 years ago
says here you pay £5 a month for a debit card with Barclays.