Offers and the silver lining Watch

This discussion is closed.
Glitterynat
Badges: 0
Report Thread starter 16 years ago
Just thought I'd share my little anecdote, in case anyone's in/falls into a similar situation as me....

Basically, I applied through ucas in 2003 to study English lit. I got little or no help with my personal statement, but somehow managed to get a conditional offer at york (aab). Come results day, i got abb, unexpectedly getting a b in english, yet very weirdly a distinction in the advanced extension award! And I literally only fell short of 3 a's by a couple of marks. However, york didn't want me (after I'd bought all their books and practically chosen my accomodation) so I was in a big mess in august.

Just wanted to tell people not to worry if something similar happens to you.......I've been temping for the past 5 months and earning loadsa cash to fund a big round-the-world trip. I've reapplied, and have already got into cardiff, leicester and southampton, all of which I already have the grades for. I decided to do resits in my 'b subjects' for my own peace of mind, since I was so close. I have also reapplied to york, although i am tempted to snub them if they do give me a place (although highly doubtful.....i got my offer last year really early, and now it's um, jan!). But anyway, that's my story just to say that you can still end up at a quality university, despite any setbacks.

Also wondering if people have heard from nottingham re. english yet? And what is the general opinion on cardiff/ leicester/ southampton? They all look to me pretty promising.

Share with me your thoughts! x
serendipity
Badges: 9
Rep:
?
Report 16 years ago
Hello, welcome to the forum btw!

I've also got an offer from Southampton for Eng Lit, Abb with b in english (thought that was quite random!) and Birmingham (AAB) which looks good.