Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Hi all,

I'm an 18 year old male, 5'2 and currently weigh 72.5Kg (Starting weight 74Kg)

I'm very overweight, so I wanted to do something about it.

2 Weeks ago I gave up chocolate/sweets/desserts and the past 3 days I have been going for a 2km walk/run every night after dinner. All this on top of a 2 meal - just over 1200 calorie day.

If any of you have any comments or suggestions, I'd be happy to hear them as I'm no expert on losing weight. (I've been overweight since I was about 12)

ReputationRep:
    If you're doing a lot of exercise then it's important to maintain a 3000-a-day calorie intake, and make sure you eat plenty of protein.

When you're exercising your body uses sugars, fats and proteins for respiration. This means if you don't each enough starchy food then a greater proportion of the metabolites used are fats and protein. If you exercise with a low calorie intake then you'll lose weight quickly, but also lots of muscle mass. If you don't have a lot of muscle under your excess fat then the places it'll come from will be airways walls and cardiac muscle, which increases the risk of heart attack massively.

Exercise should ALWAYS be accompanied by a healthy, balanced diet. If you're unsure how best to go about losing weight safely then see your GP and they'll help you work out a plan or refer you to someone who can

ReputationRep:
    I personally would find it impossible to eat 3000 calories a day!

OP maybe you could join a slimming group is this overweight issue is long term?

...or request this be moved over to fitness?

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by tommy5x)
    If you're doing a lot of exercise then it's important to maintain a 3000-a-day calorie intake, and make sure you eat plenty of protein.