Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    I'm currently studying at the University of Leeds, and for my first year, I got a low 2.1 (61.5%). I was quite disappointed with this, as I expected to get higher, and thought I'd get a higher mark in some modules. I know first year doesn't count, but it's worried me for getting a 2.1 in my last 2 years.

I only did the minimum in my first year (I went to every lecture/seminar), and only read books for essays. However, for my second year I'd really like to step it up a bit, and aim for a high 2.1 (and if I'm lucky.. a first!)

I'm not sure what percentage my 2nd and 3rd years are of my overall degree classification, but I really want to try my hardest, especially with a 12hr job too.

I'm thinking of doing some reading around the modules (for the seminars and lectures etc)... I'm thinking about reading 2 books a week, then using them to add notes around my lecture and seminar notes. Is that the kind of thing I need to start doing?

Is it still possible to get a 2.1 or a 1st with a 12 hour job?

Also, is there anything else I can do to work harder to get a higher second year grade?

Thanks for your help!

ReputationRep:
    What's costing you marks on the essays? get feedback off the turors and concentrate on those areas. also ask at the library about athens cos your tutors are certainly going to want to see you refering to those in your 2nd year.

ReputationRep:
    ... 'those' meaning journal articles

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by DamMac)
    I'm not sure what percentage my 2nd and 3rd years are of my overall degree classification, but I really want to try my hardest, especially with a 12hr job too.
    Check this. It helps you know how much time to spend on different things. It always amazes me how some people can go through their whole degree without finding out what decides their final degree class.