Turn on thread page Beta

Applicants per place ratio? watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    I was curious what the applicants per place ratio is for the investment banks, specifically at the online application form stage. It would also be interesting to know what percentage of candiates get invited to a first round interview, to an assessment centre and get an offer, separately.

Any estimates out there from HR people? Someone has to know this stuff.

ReputationRep:
    I remember back when I was a 2nd year uni student (in the u.s., we study for 4 years for a bachelor's).....during my final round interview at Citi, an HR lady told us that over 1,000 students applied to their Sophomore Rotational Program, and there were only 30 positions to be filled. there were 60 finalists. that gives you an idea....and that's Citi (not GS/MS/etc.), also for a sophomore program (unusual in the u.s.)

ReputationRep:
    Jpm HR said that they get around 20,000 internship apps. This was at a q&a talk they gave.
    Also, this would've been just pre-Lehman, so I can only imagine that the ratio since then has gone up, especially with the increasing no. of Uni students each year.
    Quality applicants per place is a better measurement, but impossible to ascertain, therefore apps per place (which will include a decent proportion of no-hopers) is the only measurement you really have.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by artistecmk)
    Jpm HR said that they get around 20,000 internship apps. This was at a q&a talk they gave.
    Also, this would've been just pre-Lehman, so I can only imagine that the ratio since then has gone up, especially with the increasing no. of Uni students each year.
    Quality applicants per place is a better measurement, but impossible to ascertain, therefore apps per place (which will include a decent proportion of no-hopers) is the only measurement you really have.

I would say down, due to Lehmans collapse, and the bad press.

ReputationRep: