Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Hi,
    I'm an international student and I will be starting my course on the 4th October. I am having troubles regarding to the tenancy contract of specific properties.

One of the property is a Student House Share and has 1 INDIVIDUAL ROOM TO LET IN A 8 BEDROOM. I enquired the agency about what this meant and they refer this as a Individual Tenancy Agreement where I'm only liable for my own rent and no one elses. But it not state Individual tenancy agreement in description.

I also ask more information on another property that is a STUDENT HOUSE SHARE where 1 ROOM AVAILABLE FOR INDIVIDUAL TENANCY AGREEMENTS IN 7 BEDROOM.

They stated, this is a Joint and Several Tenancy agreement, not an Individual Tenancy agreement, If someone moves out of the property, I will be liable for their rent.

It was the manager I was talking to but what doesn't make sense is... Joint and several is Individual and vice versa? :confused: I asked, was this a typo mistake?

Am i being scammed?

ReputationRep:
    Also if i'm correct, refering to in my first post:

1 INDIVIDUAL ROOM TO LET IN A 8 BEDROOM

"Let Only (or Introduction Only)

This is the most basic service and as the name implies means that the agent will market your property with a view to finding a suitable tenant. The agent will take up references (although the prospective tenant will be charged for this) and draw up the Tenancy Agreement (you may be charges extra for this) on your behalf. Once the tenant moves in it becomes your responsibility to manage the property and collect the rent."

SOURCE:http://www.mypropertyguide.co.uk/art...d-i-go-for.htm

So really, am I being lead on with lies? The fact that agency is being paid for the service and they would do anything to get it out of the way??

ReputationRep: