Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Hello, just discovered this forum! I've been playing the piano for quiet a few years, but last year I didn't really have much time to practice due to my A-levels. This year I'm on a gap year and looking to get back into playing, and I would say I'm roughly grade 6, but can play some grade 7 pieces (I've never taken any grades officially, but my nan's been playing and teaching for decades, so I'm not too bad!) I've just come across this piece of music below, and am looking for some artists/pieces similar to this to learn of the standard of grade 6/7. Does anyone have any suggestions? I want to have a bit of a browse on youtube but don't really know who to start with! Thanks

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZOqUFqF_ZwM

ReputationRep:
    hey im about the same level as you although i havent played in a long time
    my favourite piece to play is moonlight sonata, although the third movement is way too tricky for me
    i dont actually have many suggestions atm but ill look downstairs in my familys collection and let you know

what sort of music are you into?

ReputationRep:
    Brilliant choice, Yiruma's music is beautiful..

For a similar artist you could try Ludivico Einaudi, who is of a similar new-age genre. I particularly like 'Nefeli' and 'Le Onde'..

ReputationRep:

It's...around that skill level

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by LiamBowden18)
    Brilliant choice, Yiruma's music is beautiful..

For a similar artist you could try Ludivico Einaudi, who is of a similar new-age genre. I particularly like 'Nefeli' and 'Le Onde'..
    Le Onde is good and not too hard :yep: I just started trying to play it today

ReputationRep:
    Thanks so much for those suggestions; Le Ondo sounds particularly stunning!

(Original post by TGosling1234)
    hey im about the same level as you although i havent played in a long time