Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Right this thread is going to reveal a lot about myself. Basically its going to show how ignorant and stupid I am. Basically I studied English combined for a year at AS level, didn't revise and had poor attendance so I obviously failed.

Anyway I am thinking of taking the subject up again but this time I only want to take up one (not combined) However I'm not sure which subject it which.

I want to do more written stuff and I always thought that Lit' was more written work and Language was more analysing speech etc.... However a friend told me that this was wrong and that the opposite was true. So was I right or was my friend? Is English Lireature was all about creative writing and not analysing texts and speech.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by spaceman5000)
    Right this thread is going to reveal a lot about myself. Basically its going to show how ignorant and stupid I am. Basically I studied English combined for a year at AS level, didn't revise and had poor attendance so I obviously failed.

Anyway I am thinking of taking the subject up again but this time I only want to take up one (not combined) However I'm not sure which subject it which.

I want to do more written stuff and I always thought that Lit' was more written work and Language was more analysing speech etc.... However a friend told me that this was wrong and that the opposite was true. So was I right or was my friend? Is English Lireature was all about creative writing and not analysing texts and speech.
    There is no creative writing in English Literature. It's analysing texts i.e. poetry, novels, plays etc. There is a lot of writing, but it's not creative; largely essays on the texts you study.

Source: me, having done English Lit AS and A2.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by rylit91)