The Student Room Group

Want to quit uni

Hey all.

Am new to this site, so not totally sure if this is the right place to post this.

I'm in my 2nd year at University of Kent studying history and have come to realise that I don't think it's for me. I've stuck it out for the first year and didn't really enjoy it and although I did meet some new people, I haven't found anyone I "click" with. :frown:

Ever since I have been here, my interest for history seems to have disappeared and I have no motivation to do any work at all, even the topics I enjoy the most. I am a member of societies, but the only one that has really taken my fancy is the Equestrian Society.

On a recent trip to America, I saw Texas A&M University which looked awesome and given that I love America I'm seriously thinking of transferring, but don't know how to do it.

I know my family would not really like me leaving and transferring halfway through the 2nd year, but I really hate it here and am getting incredibly upset & stressed. I just need some advice or help on what to do, as I know I don't want to spend another term here!

Sorry for the long post, but this has been building up inside me for a long time and I think it's time I took action about it. Any help would be VERY much appreciated.

Thanks,
Richard
Reply 1
Most American universities offer 'international transfers'. Check that out.

http://admissions.tamu.edu/international/gettingin/reqDocuments/transfer.aspx
(edited 13 years ago)
Reply 2
Thanks very much Focus08. Much appreciated
Reply 3
Just stick it out and finish your degree.
Think of the student loan,your wasted years and so on.
Don't be a pussy.
I would advise you to just stay and finish your degree
you wouldnot wanna be striked by the recession
Reply 5
The cost of transferring to an American university is astronomical - I don't really think it's worth it. If you're thinking of transferring I'd suggest a university in the UK; it's more realistic and a hell of a lot cheaper.