Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hi,

My names Liam.

I am 21 and currently doing an access course in social sciences and humanities at level 3. this is 60 credits at level 3.

I want to go to university and either do psychology,criminology or maybe a few others.

I was wandering how Universities feel about access courses and what universities to avoid when applying through UCAS. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Also as i will be turning 22 in March will i be classed as a mature student? and will this affect my application at all?

Thanks for Reading and hope you can help.

Liam

ReputationRep:
    I'm currently studying an access course (social studies) also, what I have done is email all of the universities I am interesting in going to and asking them if they will accept my access course.

Like you I am hoping to study psychology and criminology. Nearly all of the unis I emailed said they would accept the access course with at least 45 credits at level three and 15 from level two. Some have stated the grade they want (as you will either get a pass, merit or distinction) and all have specified maths and english GCSE grade C or above.

One uni wanted the exact units I am doing and then said they would not accept me as my course was not scientific enough for their degree programme.

Some unis class 21 as a mature student but I think the majority consider it 25 and above.

Basically, just ring or email the universities directly.

ReputationRep:
    Thank-You very much.

I will get on with that then.

Good luck with your course buddy.

Thanks.

Liam

ReputationRep:
    Hi, I am a current Access student. The advice I have recieved is to personally contact the admissions teams and ask them what the exact entry requirements are.