Turn on thread page Beta

ABRSM Practical exams - what are they like? watch

ReputationRep:
    I started taking piano lessons at the end of Year 9, using the ABRSM grade books, but without taking any of the exams. I am now in Year 11, and my teacher has just registered me for my Grade 5 practical. I'm quite nervous - okay, I'm absolutely terrified - I have no experience of these exams, so I'm guessing that I'm likely to fail. Could anyone give me a vague idea what it's like, and what I should specifically watch out for?
    :woo:

Thanks! ;D

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Symphony Of Sorrow)
    I started taking piano lessons at the end of Year 9, using the ABRSM grade books, but without taking any of the exams. I am now in Year 11, and my teacher has just registered me for my Grade 5 practical. I'm quite nervous - okay, I'm absolutely terrified - I have no experience of these exams, so I'm guessing that I'm likely to fail. Could anyone give me a vague idea what it's like, and what I should specifically watch out for?
    :woo:

Thanks! ;D
    I always felt the same before my exams. Terrified. In fact, my fingers were shaking as I did my arpeggios on my last one.