Turn on thread page Beta

hard sweet stuff on cakes (icing ?) where to buy? watch

ReputationRep:
    Hey, I'm not too good at this so bear with me. I want to make my brother a birthday cake and I thought of a really cool one but I don't know how to make it. I can make cake that's not a problem but I want that hard stuff on top, don't know what it's called, where can I buy some? I looked in tesco and asda and couldn't find it. Is it possible to buy?

Don't know if I explained too well, I mean this stuff:

But not that colour obviously :p:

Any help? Cheers!

ReputationRep:
    Have a look online for cooking and baking shops, there may also be some baking shops in your local area.

ReputationRep:
    Yep that's icing (specifically fondant icing) - they sell ready to roll stuff in most supermarkets, it's pretty easy to use and explains how to stick it to the cake on the back. Good luck!

ReputationRep:
    you can buy it as ready made roll-on icing from most good cookshops (little ones in towns etc, not supermarkets), try morrisons as well, and i believe asda DOES stock it, but you need to ask if you cant find it yourself

ReputationRep:
    Fondant or regal icing. Look in proper baking shops. It's fairly tricky to use btw.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by nadiah)
    Yep that's icing (specifically fondant icing) - they sell ready to roll stuff in most supermarkets, it's pretty easy to use and explains how to stick it to the cake on the back. Good luck!
    Where would it be? I was looking for ages in the baking sections of tesco and asda (quite big branches too) and couldn't find it. :confused:

ReputationRep:
    fondant icing...sainsbury's does it:p:

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Smoosh)
    Fondant or regal icing. Look in proper baking shops. It's fairly tricky to use btw.