Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    How helpful would it be to be able to put a new language on the CV while applying for TC/pupillage?

I am considering learning French. But I am in my second year LLB now and my timetable is already pretty full! So another class certainly crowds my schedule. So wondering if its worth the effort. Any thoughts?

Thanks!

ReputationRep:
    It is obviously an advantage to be able to speak another language when applying to firms that have strong international practices. However, if your timetable is already full then I would be concerned that (a) you wouldn't be able to dedicate enough time to your language studies to get yourself to a level of competence that a firm would be interested in; and (b) if you did spend enough time on your language studies, your LLB studies might suffer and you might end up with poorer grades than you otherwise would do.

You number one priority should be getting good grades in your LLB, closely followed by extracurriculars (for example: volunteering, debating, university society positions, sport, etc.). I would have thought that the vast majority of people who are successful in getting Training Contracts don't speak another language and so it certainly isn't necessary .

ReputationRep:
    I speak French and Russian to a good standard - I did my BA in them. When applying for TCs no-one ever showed any interest in my French. They were interested in my Russian but most asked whether I could speak it well enough to practice in Russian, and with the best will in the world you aren't going to get to that standard learning in your spare time.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Fysidiko)