Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Right, I'm a home learning student so I'm obviously applying to university as an individual. I got AAD at AS level and I'm just wondering if it is possible for me to go from a D at AS to a B overall? I got 113 UMS points and the subject is Psychology if that helps. If it is possible could you tell me what grade I
    may need? Sorry if this is a stupid question, it's just I have no idea about it!

Cheers!

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Pedro92)
    Right, I'm a home learning student so I'm obviously applying to university as an individual. I got AAD at AS level and I'm just wondering if it is possible for me to go from a D at AS to a B overall? I got 113 UMS points and the subject is Psychology if that helps. If it is possible could you tell me what grade I
    may need? Sorry if this is a stupid question, it's just I have no idea about it!

Cheers!
    Yes, it's possible. I saw someone go from an E as AS maths to a B overall (in fact, I tutored them ), so bigger leaps have been made.

The UMS points you need to get can be worked out from this formula: (decimal percentage to get B * total UMS marks available in A2) + ([decimal percentage to get a B * total UMS marks available in AS] - points already achieved). You can then figure out the average points you need on each module by doing [result]/number of modules remaining.

For example, say that both AS and A2 have a total of two modules and 200 points attributed to each, and it is 70% to get a B. You would do (0.7 * 200) + ([0.7 * 200] - 113) to work out that you need to get a further 167 points to acquire the total of 280 (0.7 * 400) points required to get a B overall, and you need to achieve an average of 83.5 points on each remaining module (167/2)