Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    I graduated from university just under 2 years ago with a BSc Physics 2.1 and have been working in IT for about a year and half.

I want to move into scientific programming but have limitted skills in that area. So I am think of going back to university to do a masters in Scientific programming.

Will this improve my career prospects?

Also it took me 5 months to find work after graduating and I'm scared I would be out of work again after completing my masters?

Anyone done similar?

ReputationRep:
    Hi

Same here. I graduated two years ago with a 2.1 in English language teaching and linguistics..worked for two years...and now doing full time masters which is useful for abroad working. So for me its worth it...

ReputationRep:
    What do you mean by scientific programming? Do you mean mathematical-based basic research & development work? Or being part of a software engineering team that builds robust software based on R&D prototypes for a science & technology company/institution? The latter just requires good software engineering experience whilst the former may require further study (possibly at doctoral level in some fields).

ReputationRep:
    I have had a look at the Scientific programming course at Nottingham and it seems have a lot of vocational elements.

Somewhere in between, I want to developing software to solve mathematical problems i.e. using algothims and mathematical techniques.

The sort of jobs I'm looking at afterwards would be similar to:

Research and Development i.e. say at NATS
    (http://natscareers.co.uk/pages/gradu...velopment.html)

Graduate software developer for tessella
    (http://www.tessella.com/2010/09/grad...are-engineers/)

Mathematical developer for spiral software.
    (http://www.spiralsoft.co.uk/Mathemat...nguage=English)

But I currently don't have the requirements there looking for.

ReputationRep: