Turn on thread page Beta

Bad relationship with my father watch

ReputationRep:
    I haven't managed to get along well with my father in years, but everything got worse after my grandfather and then my grandmother passed away (the latter only a year ago...). It's his way or no way all of the time and it's really killing me, I feel like there's no point in doing anything nice for myself (e.g. having fun with my Brownie Guide group on a trip during the day) because as soon as I come home, he starts on at me, asking why haven't I done things, why I'm so lazy and irresponsible, lacking common sense...etc. I'm not allowed to suggest anything without express permission on rare occasions. It's as if I'm not supposed to think for myself, be a "perfect" daughter and always, ALWAYS do exactly as I'm told.

Well, I'm just not like that. I'm not a puppet. I'm a good student and have come through A levels with AAB, which I'm happy with, but he thinks I should have had AAA (or A*A*A*). I like my independence, I like taking my Brownies out to have fun, I love to learn. But he wants me under his thumb, continuously. He even gets annoyed if I don't answer a text message when I'm horse riding (um...kind of difficult when I'm riding, I prefer to wait until I'm off the horse to deal with missed calls etc).