Turn on thread page Beta

is this a good financial idea? watch

ReputationRep:
    Hi I am trying my hardest to spend as little as possible as I would like to be able to get on the property ladder earlier then most.
    I am a third year uni student.

If I were to get a mortgage on say for example a 70,000 flat ( this price is higher the what flats sell for in the area I would like to live and buy), how much of a deposit would I need when I am in a position to buy, hopefully within 3 years

I currently have some savings and will be spending like scrooge this year to increase my savings for when I do buy

I currently live at home, so don't pay any rent and when I get a job I will still be living at home.
    I don't allow myself to have any unecessary luxuries, I do not drink or smoke and never buy new gadgets
    I pretty much live in the throws of poverty to try and save as much money as possible

ReputationRep:
    If you graduate and get a job where you're earning about £20k post tax, you may as well wait 5-6 years, and buy it with savings with no need to mortgage, providing you don't spend too much of the money yourself.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by DukeNewcomb)
    If you graduate and get a job where you're earning about £20k post tax, you may as well wait 5-6 years, and buy it with savings with no need to mortgage, providing you don't spend too much of the money yourself.
    I don't want to wait 5/6 years so that the prices can shoot up
    I would like to able to purchase with a 60-70% mortgage after being in employment for 18 months

ReputationRep: