Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    I'm relatively new to set theory, so I'm not entirely sure where I'm going...

Let A={...,-4,-2,0,2,4,...}, B={0,1,2,3,4,5,...}, C={1,{1,2},2,{1,2,3},3,...}, D={1,{1,2},{1,{1,{1,2}}},...}.

Show that all sets, A, B, C, D have the same cardinality.

I know I have to find a bijective function that maps them onto each other, but I'm not entirely sure how to do it.

Any hints/info would be appreciated.

Thanks.
    • Study Helper

Study Helper
    (Original post by Scott3142)
    Any hints/info would be appreciated.
    I'm very rusty on this, and not clear what set D is.

Since you're talking about bijections, then I presume you have some familiarity with injections.

Rather than construct bijections, you will probably find it easier to construct injections to show that:

|A|\le|B|\le|C|\le|D|\le|A|

and hence they all have the same cardinality. A different ordering of the sets may make it easier; as I said, I'm v. rusty.

ReputationRep:
    Okay, so I can see that every element of A maps to an element of B, and also that there are all natural numbers in C, plus the additional subsets. So I can see that |A| \leq |B| \leq |C| but I'm struggling with the next part, and also with how to state this in a rigorous way.
    • Study Helper

Study Helper
    (Original post by Scott3142)
    Okay, so I can see that every element of A maps to an element of B, and also that there are all natural numbers in C, plus the additional subsets. So I can see that |A| \leq |B| \leq |C| but I'm struggling with the next part, and also with how to state this in a rigorous way.
    As I said, I'm not clear what set D is. It may be something standard, but if it is, it's not one I am familiar with; and even if I was familiar with it I may not know the answer as it's a looonng time ago.