Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Hi,
    I'd really like to read books in the foreign languages I am studying: French and Spanish, unfortuantely though I don't know of that many titles or where I can buy foreign language books from. Does anyone have any ideas that might help?
    Thank you
    • Wiki Support Team

ReputationRep:
    Wiki Support Team
    This thread is full of recommendations for French: http://www.thestudentroom.co.uk/showthread.php?t=659200

I can't help you much in terms of finding the books in the UK, though I think French Amazon might ship there. Otherwise I think there's a foreign language bookshop somewhere in London...

ReputationRep:
    It would depend what your level is in both languages and what type of books you're interested in. Maybe you could ask your lecturers/teachers for advice on what to read; apart from getting appropriate recommendations you would also demonstrate showing an interest (i.e. being a suck-up :P) which isn't bad either.

I've never had a problem finding books on Amazon plus it's cheaper than most bookshops.

ReputationRep:
    Hi, I'm doing Spanish and have got loads of books off Amazon. Sometimes they can be very expensive but usually you can get good quality used copies from like, 99p. I'm currently reading Arrancame la Vida by Angeles Mastretta, which is set during the Mexican Revolution and is about a woman who leaves her poor family to marry a retired general twice her age...it is really good so far! I'd also recommend any by Isabel Allende - you can definitely find those on Amazon and if you're interested in poetry, Pablo Neruda's stuff is beauuutiful :love: My friend is reading La Colmena by Camilo Jose Cela and is enoying that, it takes place at the end of the Civil War and is about the aftermath in Spain. Best of luck x

ReputationRep: