The Student Room Group

The Pill related: Can I stop the withdrawal bleeding?!

Hey all,

I started going on the pill early this month on day 1 of my period (1st of October).

Now I'm on the placebo week (week 3) and I'm bleeding as though I'm on my period. (5 days after my last pill - 21 out of 21)

Since I'm new to all of this I have a few questions:

1. Will I have a withdrawal bleed like a period, then an actual period for like 2 weeks every month? (IT BLOODY HURTS!)

2. Or is this my period come early?

2. If I start taking my pills again during the withdrawal bleed i.e. now will the bleeding subside in a few days?

Thanks in advance :smile:

I wasn't expecting my period until early next month. This sucks, I'm seeing my boyfriend on Thursday-Weekend and the getting's gonna be good lol :wink: Why oh why am I bleeding NOW of all times?! Sod's law :frown:
Reply 1
Oh hun, you should really read the instructions, or have asked your doctor LOL.

Every pill has a 4 week (28 day) cycle, you take the pill for 21 days then have 7 days of not taking it when you will have a withdrawal bleed, which is the equivalent of a period. You then start taking the pill again on the 7th day for the next 21 days, after which you will have another withdrawal bleed (period) you only get one every 28 days, which lasts for about 4/5 days.

If you start taking the actual pill earlier, your period will end but I wouldnt really do that because it could mess up your cycle. Also if you are on your 7 day break from the pill I think its less likely to be as effective so if you and your boyfriend want to do the business then mayb use extra protection.
Reply 2
Forgot to say with mine you can run two packs together so you take the first 21 and start taking the second pack as normal the next day so that you dont have a period for 2 months. Mayb check with your gp first though mine says I can take up to 3 months consecutively, good if youre going on holiday or something.
Reply 3