Toby Wan Kenobi
Badges: 0
Report Thread starter 10 years ago
A possible degree option that I hope to study in the future (at a top 30/40 uni) is Economics, preferably pure BSc or maybe with Finance. I've looked at the modules and it does appear that there are a number of compulsory Maths modules involved.

I am currently study Maths at AS Level and it seems fine at the moment, I received an A at GCSE for Maths but I really didn't put much effort in to be honest. I would like to pursue an Economics degree as I'm studying it at AS Level now and it really interests me and I would like to study it at a higher, more advanced level.

I would like to know just how much Maths is involved in an Economics degree at a decent uni (e.g. Nottingham, Warwick, Exeter, London ones etc) and how difficult the maths gets. What maths methods are used mainly? Could you do Economics at degree level with only AS Maths? etc etc.

Thanks.
yoyo462001
Badges: 16
Rep:
?
Report 10 years ago
All those unis have lots of maths in their courses. Warwick probably has a bit more than the rest but it's nothing that someone who has done A level Maths can't handle. You can do an Economics degree without A level maths though you make your life much harder. Generally A level maths is useful because there's a fair amount of calculus which is fundamentalist to economics, as we are constantly trying to maximise something (within constraints).

If you do a search you'll find lot of topics on this subject.v
Theconomist
Rep:
?
Report 10 years ago
The maths during an economic degree is MUCH MUCH more fun and interesting than A level counterpart
As long as you get in without A level math go ahead
Doughnuts!!
Badges: 14
Rep:
?
Report 10 years ago
(Original post by yoyo462001)