Chest Pain Caused From Carrying Heavy Bag?

Watch
Anonymous #1
Report Thread starter 10 years ago
I'm a sixth form student and for over a year now have been carrying one of those messenger styple bags where the strap goes over one of your shoulders. Usually I fill it with a lot of stuff and heavy text books hence its been putting pressure on the left side of my chest where the strap goes over for a long time. I generally now have a discomfort on the left side of my chest which I think has been caused by doing this. For example if during something like 2 week period off during christmas I don't have to wear my bag the pain after a few days practically almost completely goes away.

I was wondering if anyone else has experienced this and if this could have any serious health affects? I'm little worried that the weight of the bag has been putting pressure on my heart etc.
Anonymous #1
Report Thread starter 10 years ago
No one think this is anything to worry about?
unborn-soul
Badges: 0
Report 10 years ago
Use a trolley bag :dontknow:
Jambre
Badges: 9
Rep:
?
Report 10 years ago
I highly doubt it has anything to do with your heart. It is just strain caused by your bag. You should either reduce the weight of the bag or get a proper backpack else you may get back problems eventually.
OR MAN UP.
Enoch.
Badges: 16
Rep:
?
Report 10 years ago
I doubt it. I spend practically my whole school life since praimary school) carrying heavy books and stuff and my chest is aright.
graemematt
Badges: 12
Rep:
?
Report 10 years ago
Usually chest pain involving your heart is in the centre of your chest, not the left. Plus you're not likely to have heart problems at your age, and carrying a heavy bag wont really exacerbate anything serious! If you're worried, go see your GP, however I'd be happy to bet that the pain you're getting is to do with strain on your pectoral muscles. I personally get a similar pain after going to the gym, or even after running.
monkeytine
Badges: 2
Rep:
?