Would you consider laser eye surgery? Watch

This discussion is closed.
4Ed
Badges: 15
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 16 years ago
OK this is a bit similar to the other thread of surgery, but this is not for purely aesthetic reasons only. I've been wearing glasses for almost 10 years, and its has restricted me in quite alot of activities e.g. playing contact sports such as rugby and sparring in martial arts. Also for obvious social reasons, I'd sometimes prefer not to wear glasses since that would make me look a bit bookish. But contact lenses are not a great solution - you have to take a lot of care with them, and my eyes seem uber sensitive to stuff put into them. So what are the success rates of eye surgery these days, and is it actually feasible?
white_solitude
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report 16 years ago
(Original post by 4Ed)
OK this is a bit similar to the other thread of surgery, but this is not for purely aesthetic reasons only. I've been wearing glasses for almost 10 years, and its has restricted me in quite alot of activities e.g. playing contact sports such as rugby and sparring in martial arts. Also for obvious social reasons, I'd sometimes prefer not to wear glasses since that would make me look a bit bookish. But contact lenses are not a great solution - you have to take a lot of care with them, and my eyes seem uber sensitive to stuff put into them. So what are the success rates of eye surgery these days, and is it actually feasible?

i wear glasses too, a couple of months ago i got contact lenses and i don't really like them that much...they dry up my eyes if i leave them for too long and i'm looking into laser treatment. my friend's dad is an eye specalist and apparently laser treatment isn't as good, or sucessful as an operation (i don't know what the actual difference is) but i think if, in the future I do get to a point where my eye sight is really bothering me then yes, I would consider it.
Elle
Rep:
?
Report 16 years ago
(Original post by 4Ed)