Dissipated Energy: Where does it go?? Watch

This discussion is closed.
MorningElegance
Badges: 9
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 9 years ago
For ages now I have wondered where dissipated energy goes...

Energy can't be created or destroyed, so how come almost every time there's a net loss in energy someone uses the 'dissipated energy through heat or sound' excuse!

I am only an AS/A Level Physics student, and I am no expert (obviously), so sorry if this sounds unbelievably stupid, but can someone please explain this to me?
I would be eternally grateful
Scipio90
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report 9 years ago
If it's dissipated as heat or sound, it goes into heat or sound...
MorningElegance
Rep:
?
(Original post by Scipio90)
If it's dissipated as heat or sound, it goes into heat or sound...
But where does that energy go afterwards? the sound doesn't last forever :confused:
TheSadReaper
Rep:
?
Report 9 years ago
Heat or sound which is a waste because you want it for a different purpose.

So like a light-bulb, it gets crazy hot, this shouldn't be the case its purpose is to emit light, not to be a radiator. We call this energy being wasted.
radiated yoghurt
Badges: 11
Rep:
?
Report 9 years ago
North Korea
Oh my Ms. Coffey
Rep:
?
Report 9 years ago
Toothfairy takes it.
MorningElegance
Rep:
?
(Original post by TheSadReaper)
Heat or sound which is a waste because you want it for a different purpose.

So like a light-bulb, it gets crazy hot, this shouldn't be the case its purpose is to emit light, not to be a radiator. We call this energy being wasted.
Thanks, but what I meant was where does this 'wasted energy' end up being transferred to? i know heat will warm up the environment around it, but for example, if energy continues being dissipated over time, what is all this 'wasted energy' doing? What would transfer it out of its dissipated state? Maybe I'm just confused about the definition of 'dissipated energy'...
Bunkd
Badges: 1
Rep:
?
Report 9 years ago