Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

My 1st from BCU Watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    Hi all,

I graduated last year with a 1st from BCU. I believe in my opinion that it is of equal standin to other "good" uniz. But my mates from Birmingham (redbrick) tell me that even though I have a 1st I will still be filtered out from top firms because of going to BCU. I got BCC at A-level and my mate says that I need at least AAB to have a shot at the big firms due to the auto-filter.

I also believe that my 1st is worth like 1st from Birmingham, Manchester, Bristol, Nottingham. I say this becoz they all standardised and marked by an exerternal examiner so surely my capability is exactly the same as my mates from Russell Group unis.

What do you guys think? I think if I had the chance to go to a red brick I would get a 1st too because all degrees are marked equally (so I believe).

Just wanted your thoughts and that.

Thanks

Jeyesh

ReputationRep:
    Good work.

ReputationRep:
    There's a lot of debate at this in Oxford all the time, mostly because a lot of idiots seem to think they and their degrees are worth more than everyone elses.

I'm afraid that degrees aren't uniformly marked - I know that we're marked by a panel of examiners from within the Uni, and then it might be briefly checked by someone external just to see that they haven't done anything totally crazy. It would only really be possible to directly compare by setting one standard exam per subject. So in that sense degrees aren't standardised.

I don't see why you would be filtered out, certainly not if you did well on the companies own testing. The head of graduate recruitment in the south east (or similar title) for PwC said that they care more about your A levels than your degree, because that's more like the kind of work you might be doing for them.

Hope that at least contains some useful info

ReputationRep:
    oh and hell yeah, good work.

ReputationRep: