Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hello it is nice to meet everyone, I was wondering if anyone had a clue on what I should do since I am a little stuck. I want to get into dentistry but it's really competitive right now I am in my first year of college and have all the GCSE grades that I need for both of them.

If anyone could tell me the salary after graduating as a dentist or dental hygienist that would be really wonderful. If I were to become a dental hygienist would it be hard to earn £30 an hour and how long would that take?

Currently taking = Chemistry, Biology, Maths, Psychology and Sociology. ( Predicted grades as of November 23 AABBA = this was from a parents evening )

Thanks in advance!

ReputationRep:
    Don't worry about how competitive Dentistry is. I am 13, and I want to be a Dentist. You need to tell yourself that you are smart and that you are capable. Dental Hygien is also a great field, but you should do the one that you want to do. I'm sure you probably already have a good understanding of Dental school so I won't rant on about that. So Dental Hygienist school is usually 2 years. It is way cheaper than Dental school, if that's what you're going for. (I'm assuming that you're not to concerned about the prices.) Dental Hygienists start out at about $40,000-$50,000 their first few years. After a few years the salary will mostly likely progress to $65,000. That is very great pay for the amount of school and the amount of days most Dental Hygienist work a week. (Most Hygienists work 4 days a week, or maybe even more of less depending on if they are full-time or part-time.)