Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Tort Law- Help please, struggling with problem question :( Watch

ReputationRep:
    Hi, I am an undergraduate student at Sheffield and I have been set a question in relation to Law or Tort that I am really struggling with.

This is the problem question:

In March 2010, Mary Suppit started to attend meetings of Alcoholics Anonymous. On the advice of other members, she visited her village pub, the Jolly Badger, and asked the landlord, Ivor Bottle, not to serve her with any alcoholic drinks in future. She also visited the village shop and made the same request of the owner, Dawn Breaks. Both Ivor and Dawn agreed to her requests.

In July 2010, Mary felt under pressure at work and, on her way home, purchased a bottle of vodka from Dawn's shop. She was served by Peter, Dawn's son, who was unaware of the arrangement between Mary and Dawn. By 9.00 pm, she had drunk a lot of the vodka and was feeling rather guilty and rather lonely. In search of company, she went to the Jolly Badger, where she joined in Rob Brown's birthday celebrations. She was served with five ciders by Pearl Gates, the barmaid. Ivor was also behind the bar.

When Mary left the pub at 10.30 pm, she was seriously drunk. She felt sick and, in an attempt to direct the contents of her stomach over the parapet of the bridge, she fell into the river below. Mary suffered severe head injuries and would have drowned had it not been for the efforts of Johnny Goode, who had witnessed her fall and rescued her from the water.

Mary now wishes to take action for damages against Ivor and Dawn on account of their breach of duty of care towards her.

Advise Mary on any potential claim she may have in negligence.