Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    I'm studying A2 AQA English Language (specification A) and for the first piece of the two pieces of coursework in the coursework portfolio, it has to concentrate on spoken rather than written English. I'm getting a bit stuck here as my teacher insists that I can't use printed texts and it has to be all oral recordings. But I thought that it doesn't have to actually be spoken, it just has to be written to be spoken so you can look at features of spoken English on a printed text, e.g. a conversation transcript. :confused: Anyone else in the same position? Got any advice?

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Freaked_outStudent)
    I'm studying A2 AQA English Language (specification A) and for the first piece of the two pieces of coursework in the coursework portfolio, it has to concentrate on spoken rather than written English. I'm getting a bit stuck here as my teacher insists that I can't use printed texts and it has to be all oral recordings. But I thought that it doesn't have to actually be spoken, it just has to be written to be spoken so you can look at features of spoken English on a printed text, e.g. a conversation transcript. :confused: Anyone else in the same position? Got any advice?
    A conversation transcript is fine - how else are you going to include the data in your write-up? The thing with written to be spoken is that it's there on the spec:
    "For the purposes of the investigation spoken is taken simply to refer to language which is literally intended to be spoken aloud. This definition will
    therefore include scripted and spontaneous speech. Candidates are permitted to look at written text if it illuminates a question about spoken language. It
    would be permissible to study Teletext subtitles as a way of evaluating the access they provide to the spoken dialogue."