Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Doing things with my "old" friends fill me with dread, cut them off or keep contact?? Watch

Basically im in my second year of college, i have aquaintences there but not "real friends" (my high school friends went to a different college) a lot of their 18ths are coming up and so is mine actually and ive been invited to a birthday party, the thing is i never really liked them at all, they used to ***** about me, about me being poor, having crappy clothes etc.. it was pretty horrible at times, but i hung onto them during high school because they were my only friends, now after weeks of not speaking to them ive been invited to a birthday celebration, and im absolutely dreading it, e.g. im worrying about what to wear, what *****y comments they might say, me looking like a tag along, and tbh i really dont want to go, however if i decide not to they will probably never speak to me agin (they are like that!) and that would leave me completely friendless.
    In a nutshell im undecided whether to just suck it up and go because they are the only friends i have, or cut them off and face having a lonely 18th and genral crappy 2011 till university starts?

Thanks for any advice in advance.

Anyone...

ReputationRep:
    If you don't want to go, don't go. If you never liked them, what's the point?

ReputationRep:
    If they're the ones that have invited you it doesn't really make you a tag-along does it?

Be nice to them and they should be nice to you. They wouldn't have invited you otherwise.

I'd go in my opinion.

And also it doesn't cost a fortune to get some basic but decent looking clothes.

ReputationRep:
    It might be worth going, just to see if they have changed from the way they were. They did invite you, after all.
    If it transpires that they haven't changed, then, cut contact. They don't sound like good friends.