Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hey guys its my first year doing History and for some strange reason they say attendance is compulsory.
    I don't understand why though, i mean we're the ones paying to go to university so why should we get punished for not attending?
    This wouldn't be a problem to me if i enjoyed the module which these seminars are apart of.
    I have missed 9/12 of them and received emails from the lecturer and my tutor but im just unsure of what to say. I miss these seminars because they are the only 9am i have, ive had trouble sleeping, i have a phobia of catching students germs and in the enclosed space where our seminars take place its even worse, to top it off my lecturer is German. The fact hes German is an issue because i can't understand a word of what hes saying and after the first seminar i went to i figured it wasn't going to be helpful to me.
    It doesn't help either that they have been saying its their obligation to tell future employers about problems with absence.

How screwed am i? =/

ReputationRep:
    Pretty screwed, but not too late to late to turn it around. If it's your only 9am, make an effort to go! If they're compulsory, they're compulsory, not worth getting kicked out of uni because you couldn't be bothered to get up!

ReputationRep:
    Don't you want to get value for your money? It's quite likely a lot of people have competed for the place you have got so I imagine your uni wants you to make the most of it.

ReputationRep:
    Even my lecture has a register :dontknow:. Just go, you should have known there was a good chance of a 9am class and sitting in confined room with other students when you signed up to go to uni. So either drop out/get kicked out, or get over it.

ReputationRep: